Outstanding Catholic books cited

Posted By: admin On:

Winners of the 9th Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards with members of the Asian Catholic Communicators, Inc. (Photo: ACCI)

PASAY City, Sept. 21, 2015 ? The Asian Catholic Communicators. Inc. (ACCI) recognized anew recently, the best books written and published in the country on this year’s Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards (CSCBA) for promoting total human development, Gospel values, and Filipino culture through the effective use of the latest communications technology in publishing.


A total of 22 books and 18 authors vied for awards in various categories which included spirituality, theology, ministry, family life, homiletics, inspirational, and youth and children.

The cited books, their authors and publishers, are as follows:

  • Theology (special citation)

Pope Francis, The Catholic Bishop and the Priest
José Mario Bautista Maximiano
Claretian Communications Foundation, Inc.

  • Homiletics

Nourished by God’s Word

Msgr. Jesus-Romulo C. Rañada


  • Inspirational

How to Change Your Life in 30 Days

Bo Sanchez

Shepherd’s Voice Publications

  • Ministry

Desperately Seeking God’s Saving Action

Karl M. Gaspar, CSsR

Institute of Spirituality in Asia

  • Youth and Children

Art and The Creation Stories

María Lourdes A. De Vera

Claretian Communications Foundation

  • Family Life

How to Deal with Horror Parents, Monster Kids, and Freaky Siblings

Bo Sanchez

Shepherd’s Voice Publications

  • Spirituality

Desperately Seeking God’s Saving Action

Fr. Karl M. Gaspar, C.Ss.R.

Institute of Spirituality in Asia

Cardinal Sin

Present to give the trophies and certificates of recognition were no less than Pasig Bishop Mylo Hubert C. Vergara, head of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines (CBCP)’s Episcopal Commission on Social Communications (ECSC); Fr. John Klen Malificiar, SSP, ACCI president; and Amb. Antonio Cabangon-Chua, president and chair of the Catholic Mass Media Awards (CMMA).

CSCBA was the brainchild of the late Manila Archbishop Jaime L. Cardinal Sin in whose honor the award was named.


It is formed by ACCI, the largest group of Catholic book publishers in the Philippines.

Among its members are: Catholic Book Center (CBC), Claretian Communications Foundation, Jesuit Communications (JesCom), Logos Publications, Paulines Publishing House, Shepherd’s Voice Publications, St Pauls, Bayard Assumption Media, Institute of Spirituality in Asia, and Word & Life Publications.

The book awards is the print arm of CMMA. (Raymond A. Sebastián / CBCP News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors