Magsaysay Awards lectures on volunteerism to feature works of Jesuit volunteers

Posted By: admin On:

A Jesuit volunteer teaches elementary students at the Mt. Carmel School of Siargao in Surigao del Norte. (JVP photo)

MANILA, August 23, 2016— The Manila-based Jesuit Volunteers of the Philippines (JVP) and the Regional Emergency Assistance Communities Team (REACT) Philippines will gather alongside other volunteer organizations across Asia on September 1 for the first Volunteerism Day of the Ramon Magsaysay Awards Foundation (RMAF).

The JVP, a lay group headquartered at the Ateneo de Manila University campus in Quezon City, will be featured together with the Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers during the first public lecture titled “Volunteerism as Force for Development.”

The work of REACT Philippines, on the other hand, will be highlighted on the second public lecture titled “The Heart of a Volunteer: How to save lives against all odds” together with Vientiane Rescus of Laos.

According to the RMAF Center, the Volunteerism Day is meant to pay a special tribute to the sector, which plays a significant role during natural and manmade calamities.

“A special tribute for a couple of leaders and founders of volunteerism in the Philippines will cap the networking activity at midday. It is hoped that this will be the first of more opportunities to pay tribute to the outstanding leaders of the volunteerism sector,” the RMAF Center said in a statement.

Exhibits will also be set up where the public can network and interact with different volunteer organizations that are affiliated with the Philippine Coalition on Volunteerism, Inc. The public can also sign up for volunteer work that interests them during the Volunteerism Day.

The RMAF Volunteerism Day follows the August 31 Ramon Magsaysay Awards Ceremony at the Cultural Center of the Philippines. The 2016 Ramon Magsaysay Awards recipients are Conchita Carpio Morales of the Philippines, Dompet Duafa of Indonesia, the Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers, Vientiane Rescue of Laos, Beswada Wilson of India and Thobur Madabusi Krishna of India.

Established in 1957, the annual Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s version of the Nobel Peace Prize. The 2016 awardees join the community of 312 other RMAF laureates who have been honored for their significant contribution to their respective communities. (CBCP News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors