Dominican Jubilee Year kicks off

Posted By: admin On:

The opening of the Dominican Jubilee Year at Santo Domingo Church in Quezon City on Nov. 7 coincides with the Feast of All Dominican Saints. (Photo: Maria Tan)

QUEZON City, Nov. 8, 2015 – The Jubilee of the 8th centenary of the Order of Preachers (OP) has officially started.

In line with this, Manila Archbishop Luís Antonio G. Cardinal Tagle was invited by the Dominicans of the Philippines to preside over the “Rite of Opening of the Jubilee Door” and Holy Mass on Saturday, Nov. 7—the “Feast of All Dominican Saints”—at the Santo Domingo Church in Quezon City.

Manila Archbishop Luís Antonio G. Cardinal Tagle passes through the Jubilee Door of the 8th centenary of the Order of Preachers (OP), officially marking the start of a yearlong worldwide celebration set to culminate in Dec. 2016. (Photo: Maria Tan)

The opening of the Jubilee Door marked the beginning of the year-long celebration that is expected to culminate in December 2016, when the congregation St. Dominic de Guzman founded 800 years ago received papal approval with the Bulls promulgated by Pope Honorius III.

Themed “Sent to preach the Gospel,” the Dominican Jubilee is set to run from Nov. 7, 2015 to Jan. 21, 2017, the date when Pope Honorius III issued his “Gratiarum omnium largitori.”

Meanwhile, Pope Francis has recently granted plenary indulgence to all who will take part in the Jubilee celebrations – while observing the necessary conditions – that will take place both internationally and in individual Dominican provinces, an Oct. 29 article published in the Dominican website, OP.org, reports.

It adds that this privilege extends to those who will hold pilgrimages to churches and chapels of the Dominican family.

The Holy Father also asks Dominican priests to make themselves available to hear confession in all Jubilee places and administer Communion to the sick as often as possible. (Raymond A. Sebastián / CBCP News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors