David installed as new Kalookan bishop

Posted By: admin On:

Bishop Pablo Virgilio David of the Diocese of Kalookan (www.rcasf.com)

CALOOCAN City, Jan. 2, 2016– Bishop Pablo Virgilio David has been installed as the new leader of the Catholic Diocese of Kaloolan.

He was installed as the diocese’s second bishop during a special service at the Cathedral of San Roque on Saturday, January 2.

In his homily to the packed audience at the cathedral, the 56-year old prelate said he was humbled at his appointment by Pope Francis. (READ: Pope names David as new bishop of Kalookan)

“My heart is overflowing with gratitude to the Lord for entrusting this diocese to my humble pastoral care and for giving me this new opportunity of expressing my love for Him by serving His people,” he said.

The 12-year old diocese has been without a bishop, sede vacante, since January 2013 when Bishop Deogracias Iñiguez resigned due to health reasons.

The former auxiliary bishop of San Fernando archdiocese went on to thank other bishops, as well as the priests, religious men and women of the diocese, and its over a million Catholics.

“I am here before you as one who serves. You are God’s precious gifts to me as I start my ministry here. God has indeed been so good. Let us therefore join our hearts and voices in glorifying our gracious God,” he added.

Among the top Church officials at the installation were Papal Nuncio to the Philippines Archbishop Guiseppe Pinto, CBCP president Archbishop Socrates Villegas, and Cardinals Luis Antonio Cardinal Tagle of Manila and Orlando Quevedo of Cotabato.

San Fernando Archbishop Florentino Lavarias and Cardinal Gaudencio Rosales, retired Manila archbishop, also graced the occasion.

He was ordained a priest on March 12, 1983 at the age of 24. Pope Benedict XVI appointed him Auxiliary Bishop of San Fernando and was ordained bishop in 2006.

Pope Francis appointed him bishop of Kalookan on October 14, 2015. (Raymond A. Sebastián/CBCP News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors