CYO elects new officers

Posted By: admin On:

 TAGAYTAY CITY, Oct. 29, 2014 –The Catholic Youth Organization (CYO), one of the first youth groups in the country, has elected a new set of officers for the year 2014-2016 during their 12th National Biennial Convention on Oct. 24 to 26 at Villa De Oro, Tagaytay City.

Participants of the Catholic Youth Organization 12th National Biennial Convention share a light moment with Fr. Jerome Cruz, national chaplain. (Photo: Aloysa Cifra/CYO)

The newly elected CYO National Officers are Aristotle Brecino, National President; Rolan Bayona, VP for Luzon; Arvin Martinez, VP for Mindanao; Lourdez Navarro, National Secretary;  Jermilyn Vargas, National Treasurer; and Theresa  Ballo, National Auditor.

“Our main goal is to strengthen the CYO all over the country as what Fr. Willmann did and to re-activate and create new charters, units, as well as, to organize our youth who will be the future leaders in the Philippines and will serve the Catholic Church,” Brecino added.

According to him, the last national convention was held in 2004, ten years ago and the organization’s incapability to conduct biennial conventions in the previous years was because of “a dormant national office and officers.”

Brecino, who became the CYO interim president for 8 years, said the recently held national convention was initiated by the interim officers and active CYO units in Metro Manila.

Aside from electing officers, the convention, which carried the theme “Moving Forward with Faith and Beyond”, aimed to ratify the amendments to the CYO Constitution and by-Laws in accordance with the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines-Episcopal Commission on Youth’s (CBCP-ECY) recommendations; to build camaraderie and boost leadership among participants; and to help in the awareness campaign for the Cause of the group’s local founder, Fr. George J. Willmann, SJ.

The Catholic Youth Organization in the Philippines was organized in 1938 by Fr. Willmann with the Sampaloc Parish of Our Lady of Loreto as its pilot unit. (YO)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors