Cebu to host ‘Yolanda’ commemoration activities

Posted By: admin On:

NASSA Executive Assistant, Fr. Edwin Gariguez (standing, left) presides the 4th Caritas Confederation Coordination Meeting on Typhoon Haiyan Response at the Archbishop’s Residence in Cebu City, Dec. 4, 2013. Present during the meeting were representatives from Caritas confederation around the globe, bishops, volunteers, diocesan coordinators and NASSA Chairman Bishop Broderick Pabillo. (Yen Ocampo)

CEBU City, Nov. 5, 2015 – The Church’s social action arm, along with representatives of various diocesan social action centers (DSAC), Caritas member-organizations worldwide, and government agencies, will jointly hold a series of activities starting Friday in Cebu City to discuss the rehabilitation work carried out so far for at least 1.8 million people from the nine provinces worst-hit by “Yolanda” (international name: Haiyan).

The two-day gathering organized by the National Secretariat for Social Action (NASSA)/Caritas Philippines will include a photo gallery exhibit, a community-managed Disaster Risk Reduction Summit, and a press conference.

The event will also be graced by the presence of by survivors of the super typhoon as well as representatives of civil society and non-government organizations (NGOs).

The Caritas Internationalis member-organizations expected to attend are as follows:

  • Caritas UK (CAFOD)
  • Caritas Spain, Caritas Austria
  • Caritas USA (Catholic Relief Services)
  • Caritas Germany
  • Caritas Italiana
  • Caritas Switzerland, Caritas Czech
  • Caritas Netherlands (Cordaid)
  • Caritas Canada (Development & Peace)
  • Caritas Belgium
  • Caritas Luxembourg

The DSACs/relief and rehabilitation units come from the provinces most affected by the disaster, namely:

  • Leyte
  • Eastern Samar
  • Western Samar
  • Cebu
  • Palawan
  • Antique
  • Iloilo
  • Capiz
  • Aklan

For its part, the national government will be represented by officials from the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG). (Raymond A. Sebastián / CBCP News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors