CBCP re-elects Archbishop Soc as president

Posted By: admin On:

MANILA, July 12, 2015–Archbishop Socrates Villegas of Lingayen-Dagupan was reelected president of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines.

Majority of the 82 out of the 95 active bishops attending the CBCP plenary assembly in Manila voted in favor of the second term of Villegas.

Also reelected was Archbishop Romulo Valles of Davao as the vice president of the Philippine conference of Catholic bishops.

CBCP officials have a two-year tenure in office, or a total of four to include the second term.

The bishops also elected members of the CBCP Permanent Council.

The regional representatives for Luzon are Bishops Rodolfo Beltran of San Fernando, La Union, Ruperto Santos of Balanga, Gilbert Garcera of Daet, Bernardino Cortez of Infanta and Reynaldo Evangelista of Imus.

For Visayas, the representatives are Bishops Crispin Varquez of Borongan and Narciso Abellana of Romblon.

Representatives for Mindanao, include Bishops Jose Cabantan of Malaybalay and Angelito Lampon of Jolo.

Most of them are current permanent council members except for Santos, Evangelista and Abellana who will be serving their first term.

Also reelected were Palo Archbishop John Du as CBCP treasurer, Fr. Marvin Mejia as secretary general.

They will serve the Conference from December 1, 2015 to November 30, 2017. (CBCPNews)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors