Cardinal Tagle elected to new synod council

Posted By: admin On:

Photo shows Pope Francis, Cardinal Peter Erdo of Hungary, and Cardinal Luis Antonio Tagle during a session of Synod of Bishops on the Family at the Vatican on Oct. 23, 2015. (Photo: R. Lagarde / CBCPNews)

MANILA, Nov. 17, 2015— Cardinal Luis Antonio Tagle of Manila was again elected to a 15-member council of cardinals and bishops to prepare for the next synod.

Twelve members of the ordinary council of the Synod of Bishops were elected by the synod father at the end of the Oct. 4 to 15 assembly at the Vatican.

They will assist current synod Secretary General Cardinal Lorenzo Baldisseri and Undersecretary Bishop Fabio Fabene in their works until the next assembly of the synod of bishops, an advisory body of the Pope.

Synod follow-up

The new council, made public by the Vatican last Saturday, is significant because these prelates will also coordinate the follow-up to the synod on the family.

According to the Catholic News Service, the body is composed of members who took “strongly divergent positions” at the synod particularly on giving communion to divorced and civilly remarried Catholics.

The council is composed of a permanent secretary general and undersecretary as well as 15 members— three from each continent with Asia and Oceania counted as one— and three papal appointees.

Council of cardinals

Aside from Cardinal Tagle, those elected were:

  • Cardinal Christoph Schönborn of Vienna
  • Cardinal Wilfrid Fox Napier of Durban (South Africa)
  • Cardinal Oscar Andrés Rodríguez Maradiaga of Tegucigalpa (Honduras)
  • Cardinal Peter Kodwo Appiah Turkson, president of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace
  • Cardinal George Pell, prefect of the Secretariat for the Economy
  • Cardinal Marc Ouellet, prefect of the Congregation for Bishops
  • Cardinal Oswald Gracias of Mumbai (India)
  • Cardinal Vincent Nichols of Westminster
  • Cardinal Robert Sarah, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments
  • Archbishop Charles Chaput of Philadelphia
  • Archbishop Bruno Forte of Chieti-Vasto (Italy)

The three named by the Pope himself are: Chaldean Catholic Patriarch Louis Sako of Baghdad; Archbishop Carlos Osoro of Madrid; and Archbishop Sergio Da Rocha of Brasilia, Brazil.

Cardinal Tagle served as one of 3 presidents of the synod general assemblies on the family held at the Vatican in 2014 and in October this year. (Roy Lagarde / CBCPNews)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors