10 years after division, Metro Manila clergy gather for reunion

Posted By: admin On:

MANILA, Sept. 26, 2013— Priests of the greater Archdiocese of Manila will gather for the first time in a special reunion, ten years after it was divided into different dioceses. 

Dubbed as the “First Gathering of the Clergy of the Metropolitan See of Manila, the reunion will be held at the Rockwell Tent in Makati City on October 3, 2013. 

It was in 2003 when the Manila archdiocese was divided into five dioceses: Parañaque, Novaliches, Cubao, Kalookan, and Pasig. The former districts of Manila now comprise the archdiocese. 

Before the archdiocese was divided, it had 272 parishes, 402 diocesan priests, and almost 11 million Catholics under its care. 

The archdiocese said the division was initiated by the late Jaime Cardinal Sin for pastoral reasons. Today the Metropolitan See of Manila has 631 diocesan and religious priests. 

The program starts with a Eucharistic adoration and reflection by Cubao Bishop Honesto Ongtioco at 9:00 a.m. 

Pasig Bishop Hubert Mylo Vergara will also give a talk at 10:30 a.m. This will be followed by group reflection and sharing among priests. 

The whole-day activity will conclude with a Mass to be presided by Manila Archbishop Luis Antonio Cardinal Tagle and reflections at 3:00 p.m. 

The gathering will also be a special celebration of the members of the clergy for the Year of Faith. (CBCPNews)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors